NSLS Induction

The National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) has been one of SPCC’s premier clubs for many years. Recently, the NSLS hosted their first-ever entirely student-run induction ceremony to celebrate the members who completed their steps to membership. There were around 60 attendees. The steps required for induction include participation in orientation, leadership training day, three success networking team (SNT) meetings, and three speaker broadcasts.

           Orientation is a general information session students attend after joining. This event explains the benefits of joining NSLS, the requirements to be inducted, and information about other certificates. Leadership Training Day (LTD) is an all-day workshop where students begin their training through introspective leadership activities and identifying goals. Members use the SMART goal method to develop a plan they wish to accomplish over six weeks.  Speaker Broadcasts are opportunities to listen to renowned leaders speak on their experiences and give leadership advice to young leaders.

           The induction ceremony for our 2020-2021 school year featured Jim McAlhaney, a psychology professor at SPCC, as the keynote speaker for the occasion. He is known around SPCC for hosting Mindful Meditation seminars and for his love of running.  His topic was “compassionate leadership” and the importance of being a mindful leader. There were also three awards for NSLS, including the Honorary Membership Award, given to Dana Glauner; Excellence in Teaching Award, given to Fredrea Crawford-Smith; and the Excellence In Service to Students Award, awarded to Laura Grego. In addition, each recipient received a short dedication and a certificate for their efforts at SPCC. The upcoming executive board members, Melissa Paner, Dominic Done, and Jessica Romb, also shared their experiences and journey through NSLS.

The new incoming board was then recognized, congratulated, and pledged to serve their duties to the best of their abilities. The new executive board members are as follows:

            President: Savannah Kirton

            Vice President: Dominic Done

            Secretary & I: Jessica Romb

            Treasurer & Community Service Chair: Jahnia Harrigan

            Publicity Chair: Brissa Miranda

            Membership Outreach Chair: Andres Caceres

            SNT Coordinator: Melissa Paner

-submitted by Shawna Loftis

What's My Path?