Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

Members of the South Piedmont Community College Board of Trustees are appointed by the Governor of North Carolina and the boards of education and the boards of county commissioners in Anson and Union counties. In addition, the president of the Student Government Association serves as an ex officio, non-voting member.

Trustees set policies for the college in accordance with the General Statutes that govern North Carolina Community Colleges as specified in G.S. 115-D and locally adopted bylaws.

Board MembersTermAppointed by:
Ms. Deborah F. Davis Ms. Deborah F. Davis2023-2027Governor (Anson Co.)
Mr. Christopher Duggan Mr. Christopher Duggan2021-2025Union County Board of Commissioners
Mr. Michael Freeman Mr. Michael Freeman2022-2025Anson County Board of Education
Mr. Hunt Gwyn Mr. Hunt Gwyn2023-2026Governor (Union Co.)
Ms. Caroline Hightower Ms. Caroline Hightower, Vice Chair2021-2025Governor (Anson Co.)
Mr. Blake Hildreth Mr. Blake Hildreth2023-2027Anson County Board of Education
Mrs. Pat Kahle, Secretary Ms. Pat Kahle, Secretary2023-2027Union County
Board of Education
Mr. Bill F. Norwood, ChairMr. Bill F. Norwood, Chair2020-2024Union County
Board of Education
Mr. Robert Shivers Mr. Robert Shivers2023-2024Governor (Union Co.)
Mr. Jerry Simpson Mr. Jerry Simpson2020-2024Union County Board of Commissioners
Mr. Gary Summerfield Mr. Gary Summerfield2022-2026Union County Board of Commissioners
Thompson_1366px Mr. Jarvis T. Woodburn, Immediate Past Chair2022-2026Anson County
Board of Commissioners
Cassidy Holloway Ms. Cassidy Holloway, Student Government Association President2023-2024Ex Officio

Click below to access:

2023-2024 Board of Trustees Meeting Schedule

Board Agendas and Documents

What's My Path?