College Leadership

Dr. Maria A. Pharr began her role as President of South Piedmont Community College on January 1, 2017—becoming the fourth President in the College’s history. Before coming to South Piedmont, Dr. Pharr served as Executive Director of BioNetwork and Life Science Initiatives, a workforce development program within the North Carolina Community College System (NCCCS) that supports the state’s bioscience industry. Dr. Pharr has extensive experience in a variety of roles at community colleges, including faculty, staff, and administration, and state-level positions. Dr. Pharr has worked to establish South Piedmont Community College as an integral partner in economic and workforce development as well as in community and cultural engagement in Union and Anson counties. Dr. Pharr serves on the Board of Directors for the Union County Chamber, the Anson County Chamber, Monroe-Union County Economic Development, and the Anson County Economic Development Partnership. Dr. Pharr grew up in Havelock, North Carolina. She earned a bachelor’s degree in Biology from St. Andrews University and a Master of Arts in Science Education and a Doctor of Education in Higher Education Administration from East Carolina University.  She was named one of Union County’s Most Powerful Women in 2018, a 2019 East Carolina University Incredible Woman, and is a member of the 2020-2021 cohort of the Aspen New President’s Fellowship for Community College Excellence.

Senior Leadership Team

Dr. Maria Pharr
Dr. Maria A. Pharr
Elizabeth Hamrick
Executive Assistant
to the President &
Director of Special Projects,
Elizabeth Hamrick
Carl Bishop
Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs/
Chief Academic Officer,
Carl Bishop
Michelle Brock
Vice President of Finance and Administrative
Services/Chief Financial Officer,
Michelle Brock
What's My Path?